Cookie Notice

This website uses cookies to ensure the best experience. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use. Learn more about privacy policy.

Foundation Diploma in Art, Design and Media Practice

This intensive one-year course bridges the gap between sixth form or college and university. This course provides an opportunity to experiment in a wide range of disciplines, enabling you to find your specialism and to develop your portfolio.

Higher National Certificate/ Higher National Diploma (HNC/HND)

HNCs and HNDs are highly regarded by employers and are considered more practical than a traditional degree. Both qualifications provide a pathway into a particular career, helping to improve your job prospects while providing a natural stepping stone on to a higher level qualification.

Foundation Degrees

Foundation Degrees (FdA and FdSc), delivered in partnership with our university partners, are designed to equip students with the skills and knowledge needed to develop careers in a particular industry.

They combine work-based learning with academic study. On completion, students often spend an extra year ‘topping up’ to a full honours degree.

Honours Degrees

Bachelors or Honours Degrees, such as Bachelor of Arts (BA Hons), Bachelor of Science (BSc Hons) and Bachelor of Engineering (BEng Hons), are standard higher education qualifications recognised across the UK.

Usually, you will study for 3 or 4 years, full-time. You can also ‘top up’ a HND or Foundation Degree to a full Honours Degree by completing a final year of study.

Level of Qualifications Explained

LevelQualifications at this level include:
Level 3
  • A levels
  • International Baccalaureate
  • BTEC Awards, Certificates, and Diplomas (at level 3)
  • BTEC Nationals
  • OCR Nationals
  • NVQs (at level 3)
  • Access to Higher Education Diploma
Level 4
  • Certificate of Higher Education
  • BTEC Professional Diploma, Certificate and Award (at level 4)
  • Higher National Certificate (HNC)
  • NVQs (at level 4)
Level 5
  • Higher National Diploma (HND)
  • BTEC Advanced Professional Diploma, Certificate and Award (at level 5)
  • Foundation Degree (FdA / FdSc)
Level 6
  • BTEC Advanced Professional Diploma, Certificate and Award (at level 6)
  • Honours Degree (BA Hons / BSc Hons / BEng Hons)
Level 7
  • BTEC Advanced Professional Diploma, Certificate and Award (at level 7)
  • Postgraduate Certificate
  • Masters Degree
  • Postgraduate Diploma